h1

Girl, Interrupted.

July 4, 2010

“Crazy isn’t being broken or swallowing a dark secret. It’s you or me amplified. If you ever told a lie and enjoyed it. If you ever wished you could be a child forever.”

” How am I supposed to recover when I don’t even understand my disease?”
“When you don’t want to feel… death can seem like a dream. But, seeing death – really seeing it… makes dreaming about it fucking ridiculous. Maybe, there’s a moment growing up when something peels back… Maybe, maybe, we look for secrets because we can’t believe our minds…”
“I’m not really dead.” “I know.”

So many people don’t understand that you don’t have to be neccesarily “different” to have a mental illness, this film shows the perspective of a person who isn’t “different”, who may be classified as “normal” in society who is told she’s mentally ill. It lets people realise that it can happen to anyone, sure some people may have more chance biologically but this film can really speak to people and tell them the truth. Although this film really affects me when I watch it, I really enjoy it and it reminds me that it’s not wrong for someone to have a mental illness and that we are all people just trying to survive this madness.
Leave a Reply

