h1

The drinking culture.

October 17, 2011

There are two kinds of people who don’t drink. The extreme religious types and recovering alcoholics. I am neither and I don’t drink, yes I used to be very religious and learned my morals from a church but now I am no longer part of a religion I have chosen to keep the values which I feel will benefit my life. I don’t know if I will ever understand the concept of getting drunk for fun. I am not slating any of you who drink as I respect your right do to so, so please don’t attack me unnecessarily. I just don’t get it? I understand how someone would drink to numb the pain or self abuse but for fun? I am someone who constantly feels out of control and the last thing I would want is to really be out of control. As a young adult it does make me feel a bit of an outcast that I don’t want to drink alcohol and get drunk but then I’ve tried it once or twice and just felt like a fraud. It just wasn’t me, it wasn’t what I wanted to do. So now I’m weird because I don’t do it. I just don’t see how making an idiot out of yourself and then throwing up continuously can be seen as exciting? It sounds frightening to me. I don’t want to lose self respect or wonder who I may have slept with. I’ve had so many people really attack me for saying I don’t want to drink, it’s like instead of people hearing “I don’t like drinking alcohol” they hear “I hate black people”. I wrote this post because I was discussing Uni with a friend and he said “I’ve heard the first year of Uni is great because you get to get pissed all the time!” Great…I thought, isn’t University about studying for your future? All I hear outside my window every night are drunk people screaming or shouting at or attacking each other and it makes me scared. I remember a “friend” who said I was very high and mighty because I don’t like getting drunk and I just felt like I was talking to a brick wall. Everything I said was wrong and to him I hated everyone who drank alcohol but that’s not true. I dislike the alcohol. I have people in my family who NEED to drink to be sociable or loosen up and it makes me sad that they can’t achieve these things without being a little intoxicated. It’s a problem that nobody sees as a problem. We should be able to have fun without alcohol shouldn’t we? I can’t even count how many time I’ve heard “How can you have fun without drinking?!” And I just think well, I just don’t drink and enjoy other people’s company or whatever I’m doing. Isn’t it that simple? I’m not saying don’t have a drink to have fun I’m just saying people shouldn’t think it’s impossible to enjoy life without a few drinks. I’ve known alcoholics and how destroyed their lives can become and how it effects the people around them. Yet we freely allow ourselves to say “I need a few drinks to get loosened up.” There shouldn’t be a need…right? Or am I just horribly ignorant…Why am I so horribly different? And why do I have to feel so outcast because I want to have control and don’t enjoy the taste of alcohol. I don’t understand. All addictions are harmful and I just wish people were more careful. There are so many people who when they are upset, get a drink. That’s one of the bad habits that can turn anyone into an alcoholic. And nobody deserves to have to suffer with addiction. That’s why I don’t drink. If only I didn’t feel the need to have an excuse to not drink.

6 comments

  1. Don’t! There is a collective cultural insanity about alcohol the production, taxation and distribution of which accounts for of enormous part of the UK’s GDP. People drink to ease/blot out the pain and produce behaviour that fits within society’s definition of normality. A sad society that produces the “can’t have fun without booze” is a sick society. I don’t know what you define as an alcoholic, I would argue that all those who drink to ‘enjoy’ themselves are already in the grip of a dependency best labelled as alcoholism. Ditto those who seek solace in drink whenever they have a problem – physiologically there is a high from the first unit or three but alcohol is a depressant. The physical effects are well documented, less so the psychological impacts. You are not horribly ignorant; this society has become one where any kind of outsider is derogated for not belonging. Drunks (and stoners) are boring and only fun to be with if you are in a similar state. Alcohol impairs brain function which is why those operating machinery such as motor cars are severely penalised for drinking and driving. The same impairment applies to conversation and judgement.

    You don’t drink because you choose not to! One generally accepted let out should you ever need one is to mutter darkly about tablets: one of the less harmful urban myths is that you mustn’t drink whilst taking antibiotics.


    • Glad I have people like you to make me feel a little less stark raving bonkers and a little more sane 😀 thanks!


  2. I like the atmosphere in pubs and find alcohol an oil to social cogs; it has a relaxing effect, in moderation, for me (and, apparently, for my mates also). No more and no less really, unless you count the fact that I genuinely find a cold beer refreshing and relish the occasional taste of Shiraz with my lamb madras.

    It’s been a long time since I got so pissed that I hurled everywhere. It’s not a good look at all. But there is a difference between that and feeling a bit merry, to be fair, which I suppose I’d best liken to a mild hypomania.

    The thing is, though, I chronically spend my leisure time with people a lot older than me (and I’m 28 as it is), so am not exposed to the crazy student lifestyle. When I was a student, I actively loathed being around my beers and went to great pains to avoid nights out with them. I don’t understand the whole “you have to be paraletic three times a way” thing either. (To be honest, I think I have a mild phobia of student culture. My course at university was shit, but so were my peers – it was only when I was doing my Masters, a course in which most people were intellectually invested rather than just doing what was expected of them ((not that that is true of all undergraduates, of course)), that I started to hate university slightly less).

    So I suppose this is a characteristically long-winded way of saying, “I don’t think there’s anything wrong with alcohol in (relative) moderation, but the obsession with becoming blind drunk is a bit alien to me.” And how dare people demonise your decision not to drink? It’s a personal choice, and should be respected. I can only hope that one day they’ll grow up and see how childish they were being.

    Anyway, lovey, I’ve rambled enough. Take care.

    *hugs*

    Pan ❤ xxx


    • I love how you said Beers instead of peers 😉 me and J aren’t into the whole student lifestyle either and I definately get on better with people older than myself. But being the middle of a student city, mature people are definately lacking. Staying indoors and working from home seems the best solution until we can get away from dreaded students! Xxx


  3. […] of being social that can be complicated – alcohol. Maybe Borderline shares her views on the Drinking Culture. There are two kinds of people who don’t drink. The extreme religious types and recovering […]


  4. Thankyou, nice to know someone who feels exactly the same. I used to have morals based only on christian reasoning, must say first year uni changed that. Socially Uni seems to all about getting drunk, never have, but because you don’t apparently that makes you a bit of a freak. I’m fine with people drinking, each to their own but fuuuark why does everything that is “fun” have to involve getting pissed?



Leave a Reply

